What can you do with this?

I’ve been reading Dan Meyer’s blog, which, if you haven’t read it yet is very much worth your time.  The water tank problem really spoke to me.  I toyed with the idea of trying to use the oil spill videos with the calc kids, but we kind of ran out of school year and AP exam and blah blah blah.  But still, there is next year and I’m trying to think of things to do

I had a pretty good idea about a calculus WCYDWT where I make a video of the speedometer (and incidentally the tachometer) in my car and at the end, the question is how far is it from my house to school?  Obviously there’s an odometer as well, so the calculus is not necessary to know the actual distance.  However, that’s never the point, right?  We’re not saying that math is the only way to know things.  Instead, we’re saying that math is a very good way to know things when you have some information and you need other information.

Hopefully I get to teach calc again next year, which is looking doubtful right now.

Leave a Reply

