creativity

What difference does it make if I’m more creative as a teacher?  There’s no guarantee that creative lesson planning leads to growth in creativity for my students.  I could use super creative methods to bring students along rails to an objective that I’ve designed, but it’s still me making the hard decisions for them.  If we’re interested in promoting creativity in students, we need to think about curriculum development.

Contrariwise, I could use the same approach every day with open ended tasks that allowed free form solutions, but those wouldn’t always go where I wanted them to.  So that’s not a problem unless you’re determined to control the outcome.  But that’s not how creativity works, right?  You don’t go in looking for a certain and specific outcome.  You don’t need to be creative to get an outcome that you can see in advance.

http://zhaolearning.com/world-class-learners-my-new-book/

Leave a Reply

